UBC Home Page
UBC Home Page
UBC Home PageUBC Home Page

News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login



Christina Laffin *
Department of Asian Studies 
Pre-modern Literature, Women's History, Gender Studies

Shigenori Matsui *
Director of Japanese Legal Studies
Faculty of Law
Japanese Law, Constitutional Law, Internet Law and Law and Medicine


Ignacio Adriasola
Department of Art History, Visual Art & Theory
Modern Japanese Art

David Anderson
Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy
Museum Learning and Visitor Experience, Japanese World Expositions, Asia-Pacific Museum and Educational Reforms

David Barrett
Department of Wood Science

Stefania Burk
ArtsOne and Department of Asian Studies
Pre-modern Literature, Poetry and Salon Culture, and Women's Writing

Jennifer Chan
Department of Educational Studies
Gender, Education, Citizenship, Multiculturalism, Human Rights, Transnational Social Movements, and Globalization

Rebecca Chau
Department of Asian Studies
Japanese Linguistics and  Language Pedagogy

David Cohen
Faculty of Forestry
Globalization, Markets and Housing of Japan and China

Millie Creighton
Department of Anthropology 
Consumerism, Popular Culture, Identity, Gender, Work/Leisure, and Minorities

Julian Dierkes *
Keidanren Chair in Japanese Research
Institute of Asian Research
Sociology, History Education, Supplementary Education (学習塾)

W. Erwin Diewert
Department of Economics
Measuring Productivity of the Economies of Japan, Australia and New Zealand

David Edgington *
Department of Geography
Geography of Japan and the Pacific Rim

Shirin Eshghi 
Asian Library

Benjamin Goold
Faculty of Law
Criminology, Human Rights, Privacy, Surveillance, and Security

Steven Heine
Department of Psychology
Cultural Psychology

Nam-Lin Hur
Department of Asian Studies
History of Japan and Religious Culture

Ishu Ishiyama
Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology, and Special Education
Multicultural Counselling and Healing Practices, Anti-racism and Multiculturalism, Japanese Morita Psychotherapy, Spirituality and Multidimensional Self-identity, Positive Psychology

Ryuko Kubota *
Department of Language and Literacy Education
Culture and second language education, Critical pedagogies, Second language writing

Frank Lam
Department of Wood Science
Timber Engineering and Applied Mechanics

Darrin R. Lehman
Department of Psychology
Cultural Psychology, Self-Criticism among Japanese, Health Psychology

Hyung Gu Lynn
AECL/KEPCO Chair in Korean Research
Institute of Asian Research
Modern Japanese and Korean History

Jessica Main
Tung Lin Kok Yuen Canada Foundation Chair in Buddhism and Contemporary Society
Institute of Asian Research and Department of Asian Studies
Buddhist Ethics, Human Rights, Modern Buddhist Institutions and Governance, Japanese True Pure Land Buddhism (Jōdo Shinshū)

Joshua Mostow
Department of Asian Studies
Pre-modern Literature, Gender Studies, Critical Theory

Fuyubi Nakamura
UBC Museum of Anthropology
Asia Curator

Masao Nakamura
Konwakai Japan Research Chair
Institute of Asian Research; Sauder School of Business
International Business, Technology Management and Transfer, Japanese Economy

Peter Nosco
Department of Asian Studies
Intellectual and social history of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century Japan

Benjamin Nyblade
Department of Political Science
Japanese Politics, Comparative Political Institutions

Sharalyn Orbaugh
Department of Asian Studies
Modern Japanese Literature, Film, and Popular culture, Gender Studies

John Ries
Sauder School of Business
Japanese Business, International Trade

Marc-David Seidel
Sauder School of Business
Discrimination and networks in the employment relationship, Social networks and organizational decision making, Community Form (C-Form) of organization

Yves Tiberghien (Director of IAR)
Department of Political Science
Japanese Politics

Ilan Vertinsky
Institute of Asian Research; Sauder School of Business
Japanese and Korean Business Systems, Technology Management of the Forest Sector

George Wagner
School of Architecture
Architecture and Urbanism

William Wray
Department of History
Business History and the World Economy

Christina Yi
Department of Asian Studies
Modern Japanese Literature

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Chiaki Konishi
Faculty of Applied Science
Social-emotional Development Among Children and Adolescents, Health in Vulnerable/Marginalized/Minority Youth, Methodological and Statistical Issues

Associate Members

R. Dore, Honorary Professor, Institute of Asian Research, UBC
T. Gonnami, UBC
T. Kakehi, UBC
T. Kawasaki, Simon Fraser University
M. Kohno, Waseda Univ
B. Lee
M. Matsumoto, UBC
C. Mosk, University of Victoria
K. Nagatani, Kobe University
B. Pendleton, Langara College
Y. Shibata, UBC
P. Tsurumi, University of Victoria

Affiliated Graduate Students, 2014-2015

PhD Students

Pavlos Alexiadis (Wood Science) 
Mara Blair (Asian Studies)
Haley Blum (Asian Studies) 
Dada Docot (Anthropology) 
Weiting Guo (Asian Studies)
Nicholas Hall (Asian Studies) 
Hiroko Hara (Educational Studies) 
Daisaku Higashi (Political Science)
Masayuki Iwase (Educational Studies) 
Nao Kashiwagi (Law) 
Konrad Kalicki (Political Science)
Woobinn Kim (Asian Studies)
Dai Kojima (Human Development, Learning and Culture)
Sung Sook Lim (Anthropology) 
Wenping Eric Liu (Law) 
Evan Koike (Anthropology) 
Jonathan Luedee (Geography)
Alexey Lushchenko (Asian Studies) 
Shiho Maeshima (Asian Studies) 
Pascale Massot (Political Science)
Otilia Milutin (Asian Studies)
Hideyuki Mizobuchi (Economics)
Satoko Mizutani (Sociology) 
Go Murakami (Political Science) 
Yuki Ohsawa (Asian Studies)
Eiji Okawa (Asian Studies)
Tomoyo Okuda (Language and Literacy Education)
Minami Orihara (Asian Studies)
Naayeli Ramirez (Law)
Sam Shooklyn (Asian Studies)
Hanae Tsukada (Educational Studies) 
Fernando Villaseñor (Law) 
Ben Whaley (Asian Studies; CJR Assistant) *
Ethan Windschitl (Asian Studies)


MA Students

Nanami Akimoto (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Arc Han (Politics)
Mina Hattori (Asian Studies)
William Hochstettler (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Xue-Rong Jia (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Hyunmi Kim (Asian Studies)
Soyeop Kwon (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Matthew Lee (School Psychology)
Elizabeth MacArthur (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Marc McCrum (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Ian McDonald (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Kim Mc Nelly (Asian Studies)
Shiho Minami (Language and Literacy Education)
Rob Rudolph (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Kengo Seki (Anthropology)
Hannah Smith (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Nicholas Sutton (Educational Studies) 
Carly Teng (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Adam Wanke (Law)
Nik White (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Daniel Wood (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Michael Zhang (Asia Pacific Policy Studies)
Min Zhu (Asian Studies)

*Denotes members of the CJR Management Committee AY 2014-2015


Section Menu :: CJR
Call for Papers and Panel Proposals
Accommodation options
Conference Registration